The Visual Diary No. 1

BF50F15E-C766-468C-A88A-42EFAE57EF84

Residential street lined with cherry blossoms in Chelsea

A huge part of my experience abroad is that I’m constantly snapping everything. And my friends probs hate me for abruptly stopping to post the billionth picture of a cherry blossom to my Instagram story, but such is life (it’s okay, they do it too). Times are so different from when I first studied abroad four years ago, where Snapchat was barely gaining traction, it was semi-socially acceptable to post multiple photos to your Instagram feed in one day (also remember collages???), and Facebook still reigned supreme. I mean, I was literally uploading between 700 and 1000 photos to FB every week, always under a new album! Crazy! While I really can’t stand using FB these days, I miss how much of my life was documented and uploaded by my friends onto a platform that I still have access to so that I can fondly reminisce on my early times abroad. In that spirit, I thought it would be a good idea to put a bunch of photos in a post that don’t have a specific blog attached to them, but that I took the effort to take and maybe they’ve lived on the Internet somewhere for 24 hours. Enjoy!

8A5E92A1-4D84-4AFB-B690-97E4F415C683

Sunset during an impromptu walk in Hyde Park inspired by Austen heroines

DF17CFDA-4DC6-4F66-BBBA-0E82A0D653F7

Sunday spent strolling through Regents Park

Another sunset stroll with my oldest friend Ali at the Italian Gardens in Hyde Park

The quirky pastels of Notting Hill post-brunch

 

Chelsea mews

Another Chelsea mew (street?)

 

Early spring in Kensington Gardens

 

A daffodil garden lit up in Pater Noster Square by St. Paul’s Cathedral to raise money and awareness for the Marie Curie Great Daffodil Appeal

Leave a Reply

