The Autumnal Lip Edit | 2016

img_3844

As a girl who loves autumn, I have taken my excitement for the season to a whole new level by expanding my wardrobe and makeup collections to suit the beautiful, warm tones. Everything in my life is slightly on the burnt orange side and I’m loving it all. Below are a selection of lip products I’ve been wearing and admiring since September.

img_3846

img_3839

Smashbox  Always On Matte Liquid Lipstick in Out Loud

This is the star of the autumnal show as it’s literally autumn in a liquid lipstick tube. I watched a Sunbeams Jess vlog where she’s wearing this with a scarf of the same color and I spent the entire month of October trying to get my hands on it (and a matching scarf) as it had sold out everywhere in the UK. I made a Sephora order and had my friend bring it with her to London because I just couldn’t wait until December. The formula is a dream to apply, especially on my dried out Accutane lips. It also lasts EXTREMELY well despite transferring on every tea mug I come across. While I do wish it didn’t transfer at all, you can’t tell that it does so and that’s fine with me.

img_3840

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Black Cherry

An oldie that’s such a goodie for dry lips because the creamy formula glides on doesn’t suck the life out of your already stressed lips. The shade is a deep red-toned berry that can look almost black with a darker base. This one also stays put nicely and gets pressed into my lips, preventing the awful awkward fade.

img_3841

Fresh Sugar Berry Tinted Lip Treatment

The only tinted lip balm I reach for this time of year because it replenishes and adds color. Perfect and a personal fave for the past three or four years.

img_3842

Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution Lipstick in Very Victoria

I can’t say I totally love this formula and the shade is very close to my natural lip color, but I like that it gives life to my lips and when it comes off, it does so in a subtle way that doesn’t make me cry. The formula is too drying for my flaky lips, but the color lets me get away with it. This just injects my face with a healthy lip color and I hope I can make it my perfect nude when my lips are fully back to normal in a couple of weeks.

img_3843

Chanel Rouge Coco Ultra Hydrating Lip Colour in Mademoiselle

This is similar to the Very Victoria in that it boosts color in my face, except it hydrates and is much more pigmented on my lips. So flattering, so comfortable and so pinky-nude in all the effortlessly French ways.

img_3838

Have you been as obsessed with matching scarves to lipsticks as I have this season? I hear it’s the new shoes and belts of the fashion world. – Sab

Leave a Reply

