Music Mondays | Songs of the Summer

Now that it’s OFFICIALLY AUTUMN, maybe everyone can allow me to revel in the glory of cooler days and sweater weather. One thing I actually did enjoy about this past summer was the music. For the first time in years, I found myself loving so much that was played on the radio without any real emotional attachment like I had last year being in London. Now, I really hated that Justin Timberlake song and refuse to call it the song of the summer, but I still managed to find some really good alternatives (let’s be real, nobody actually likes that song).

img_1558

I had quite the Ellie Goulding moment towards the end of spring because I went to her Delirium World Tour and found myself LOVING so much of her new music. I was a huge fan of “On My Mind” and “Something In the Way You Move” before the show, and became immediately obsessed with “Keep on Dancin'” and “Codes” post-concert. All of these are just super fun and all have a bit of romantic flair with some sass thrown in. Really fun for a night out and a long road trip.

img_2656

Because of the Delirium World Tour, I also became obsessed with Ellie’s opening act, Bebe Rexha. OMG that girl is fun. She is super trendy and talented, having written a lot of songs I was already a huge fan of. If her name doesn’t sound familiar, she’s responisble for the David Guetta and Nicki Minaj tune “Hey Mama” and Eminen and Rihanna’s “The Monster.” Her voice also features on the successful song “Me, Myself and I” on G-Eazy’s latest album and she has her own single featuring  “No Broken Hearts” climbing the charts. The last two have been on repeat for months and I just can’t get enough of Bebe. I could do without the G-Eazy parts, which is why watching Bebe perform it on her own is so much better since she wrote the song and has the original verses in her performance. If you’re interested in a lot of the fun, super cool hits that a lot of your favorite artists are singing, mostly Nicki Minaj, then chances are Bebe was the girl behind them. Again, perfect for a night out or a road trip.

Before this summer, I knew very little about Major Lazer other than he was on one of my fave tracks from last summer, “Lean On.” This summer, he really created a presence for himself in my music library with the songs “Light It Up” and “Powerful.” Every time I went for a run, these three songs were blasting to get me through the tyrany of the treadmill. All of these scream #musicfestivalvibes and are very transitional for being super chill and also super upbeat. Idk how Major Lazer does it, but featuring the voices of Nyla and Ellie Goulding against those electric beats sure help.

img_2655

The Biebs also worked with Major Lazer on the hit “Cold Water” and while I do like that song a lot, I much prefer Bieber’s collaboration with DJ Snake on the track “Let Me Love You.” I ALWAYS confuse this with “Lean On” because the intros are SO similar, but after a few seconds it’s all Bieber and it’s soooo good guys. I think it’s one of my favorite Bieber tunes since the release of Purpose and basically every song off that album is amazing. It’s a good dance tune that can also be chilled out and the melodies mixed with Bieber’s falsetto really do so much good for the world – we aren’t worthy. If anyone has any doubts about JB’s voice or musicality, play them this and proceed to shame them for being so wrong.

21 Pilots have been on my radar for a few years, not for their music so much as for the fact that drummer Josh was dating actress Debby Ryan, who I love for her hair and Instagram aesthetic. Anyway, they have really been killing it with the release of their latest album Blurry Face and if you don’t love “Stressed Out” or “Ride,” then you’re lying. Both songs make me think of car rides with my brother where we would literally just have them on repeat over and over again. They’re fun to sing along to because of the broken down raps, but also because we really relate to taking tree house homes over student loans. PREACH.

Over the past three years, I have become obsessed with going to Ibiza and idk why because I’m not a crazy party girl and beaches terrify me, but I think if I were ever to do any kind of insane trip, it would be to Ibiza. Mike Posner’s hit “I Took A Pill In Ibiza” has just further prompted me to book a trip. It’s the epitome of an absolute banger and I can’t get enough of it. I also really loved his 2010 hit “Cooler Than Me” and the song he wrote for Bieber, “Boyfriend,” so I’m not surprised this was totally smashing it becuase you don’t get more of a summery song than this.

img_2654

I am a bit ashamed to admit that I have become a total DNCE fangirl, but once a Joe Jonas girl, ALWAYS a Joe Jonas girl. If you read my post on last year’s Jingle Ball, you’ll see that I couldn’t give two shits about DNCE, especially because I really couldn’t stand “Cake By the Ocean,” but then I watched the music video for “Toothbrush” and was instantly in love (damn you, Joe Jonas!) because the music and the video itself were just too good! I really love model Ashley Graham at the moment and am so happy then band used her in the video, but I can’t deny that I don’t love the song itself. Then, I learned how “Cake By the Ocean” came about when some Swedish (?) people were with DNCE and asked what the name of the drink was that Americans always have, calling it Cake By the Ocean rather than Sex on the Beach. Bloody brilliant. And it’s also just really, stupidly catchy and makes me smile every time I hear it. IDK WHAT HAPPENED EITHER.

A couple random entries go to Enrique Iglesias and Pitbull with their songs, “Messin’ Around” and “Duele el Corazon,” which is just Enrique. It might have to do with the fact that these songs were all over the radio back home, since I do come from the border, but also they’re just really good. I did hear the Spanish version of “Messin’ Around” in London, so I guess Pitbull just makes everything an international sensation. They’re both really fun takes on relationships/love, so I like that about them. The other random song is Dierks Bently “Somewhere on a Beach” and OMG THIS IS COUNTRY GOLD. It’s literally everything that your typical country song has these days – heartbreak, alcohol, partying, and running away from your problems, but it starts out so freaking sassy and then you’re just hooked before you know it. He gets over a girl in the best way possible, and she’s still obsessing over him, BUT HE COULD CARE LESS! That storyline coupled with Dierks Bentley’s voice just works for me.

img_2653

My FAVORITE songs of the summer have to go to the Chainsmokers “Don’t Let Me Down,” Sia’s “Cheap Thrills,” and BRITNEY SPEARS WITH “Make Me.” When I first heard “Don’t Let Me Down,” it was for a road trip with my brother to Austin and now every time I hear it, I think about Austin and fun cousin times, so I just really enjoy it, despite being way overplayed on the radio, I don’t mind at all. Another radio fave is “Cheap Thrills” and NOT the version with Sean Paul; he has his place, but it ain’t with my girl Sia. Anyway, I LOVE THIS SONG!!! It’s such a fun song to sing with girlfriends and to belt out on my own. Literally couldn’t get enough of it because yeah, I don’t need money to have fun! (I do need money to eat, though). And then can we even talk about Britney’s return to the pop scene without dying?? Not possible. Every song I’ve heard off of Glory so far is classically and perfectly Britney. It’s just art, you know? I’m going to throw in “Private Show” also because it’s just so good and it literally wouldn’t work (work it work it) for anyone but Queen B. I’m also going to say something super crazy and proclaim “Make Me” as my fave B song of all time….I KNOW GUYS. This one could also do without G-Eazy imo, but damn it’s so good! And it’s just a new Britney that’s still like, “hey girl” to the old Britney! Ahh it gives me goosebumps.

Finally, some shoutouts to the 1975 for an amazing new album, I Love When You Sleep, for You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware of It and One Direction for half of their last album, Made In the A.M. because no, I still haven’t listened to the rest of the album, but the sevenish songs I have listened to have been on REPEAT for nearly a year now. Both of these albums just make me feel good and I love listening to them all the time. Also have to shoutout the middle school baes Blink-182 and the All-American Rejects because I saw them on tour this past summer and re-lived my youth! Not like I forgot how sexy Tyson Ritter is, but I had neglected him and thank goodness for this tour because he is back in my life and I’m never going to abandon him again.

This entire post is full of songs I really haven’t stopped listening to since I first heard them, but that’s not saying too much since I’m the type of person that can listen to Christmas music on repeat, year round, and never ever tire of it.

Leave a Reply

