Play! by Sephora | June 2016

 

IMG_2019Okay, now I know I said last month’s bag was the best one yet, but this month’s was actually 10 times better. Firstly, thanks Sephora for continuing with the drawstring bag in lieu of the box (am really hoping this is a permanent thing). Also, thanks for giving me things I can actually use!

IMG_2024

Benefit They’re Real! Lengthening & Volumizing Mascara 

If you haven’t tried Benefit They’re Real, you haven’t lived. No really, they give out mini samples of this stuff everywhere, so I’d actually be shocked to hear that it hadn’t made its way to you yet. I do really like this mascara, but it’s not one that’s good all the time. It has a broad window of perfection and it also has some time as being difficult and super flaky when dry. The brush is what everyone loves becuase it has a little spiked ball at the tip to help with those pesky shorter lashes. Apparently you can use this vertically to help spread the lashes out (that’s what the ball is for according to Sephora), which is something I literally would have never even thought to do. It’s definitly a good one, but I will say now that I’ve broadened my mascara horizons, I’ve discovered ones that work better for me from the drugstore and Sephora alike.

IMG_2022

Tarte Tarteguard 30 Sunscreen Lotion Broad Specturm SPF 30

I LOVE sunscreen. I am your best friend in the summer/always because I constantly remind you to apply and reapply the SPF (you’ll thank me when you’re 80 and have no wrinkles). I particularly like the formula of this sunscreen because it’s light and easy to work into the skin. Additionally, it doesn’t interfere with my makeup in any way. I also like it because it’s from Tarte and I really trust them as a brand.

IMG_2021

Bumble and Bumble Don’t Blow It

I don’t style my hair anymore. No really, I don’t. I started off by going a few days without using heat here and there, but I’ve now just cut the heat completely. I had a blowdry when I got my hair cut seven months ago, and then again recently to try a fancy new blowdryer. I didn’t miss it because I’ve actually learned how to work with the natural waves and strightness of my hair rather than against them and I think it looks much better as a result. That being said, this was an interesting product for me because I thought it could help enhance the waves in my hair (I have fine, straight hair with a slight wave) and it definitely did! The waves were more pronounced and my hair was generally smoother. I like that I can use this with damp hair and it helps to shape it.

IMG_2023

BECCA Backlight Priming Filter

Everyone loses their minds over Becca products and while I love their newest foundation  with a dropper, I’m actually not a massive fan of the pressed highlighting powders. I always prefer cream cheek products, so the highlights don’t really work for me and it’s just generally quite heavy. This however, has all the glow I need in a lovely liquid formula that I can slather on under my base and on every high point possible. It’s lovely and while I probably won’t repurchase this, I do really like it.

IMG_2020

bareMinerals bareSkin Sheer Sun Serum Bronzer

This is a really cool bronzer because again, powder products aren’t my thing and bronzers scare the living daylights out of me, so a light serum formula is definitely the way to go. I love that I can control how much I apply because I can start out with a truly subtle and sunkissed glow and basically just stay there becasue I’m not trying to be bronze goddess. But if I were, I definitely have that option as well. I can also use this to layer bronzers and the best thing about this is that it isn’t too orange! It can be a bit messy though.

IMG_2026

Tocca Florence Fragrance

This was a bit too floral for me, so I don’t think I’ll be keeping it.

IMG_2027

Thanks again to Sephora for really stepping it up and giving me products that are really good for summer AND are keeping up with the trends. I can be bronze and shimmery and carefree and protected. I can do a full face of makeup with these products, which I think might be a first for the monthly subscription! Let me know how you feel about this month’s Play!

Sab

 

Leave a Reply

