Review | Play! by Sephora February 2016

IMG_1285

I’m going to get right to it and say this has been my favorite Play! box since the first one I received in September. I already own half of the things in the box, but I felt that was fine because a person can never have too much of a good thing, eh?

IMG_1287

Lancome Drama Liqui-Pencil Longwear Eyeliner in Noir Intense

I am never excited by black pencil eyeliners because I own enough for eight lifetimes and I never use them because they were the reason for raccoon eyes throughout my teen years. This is a very special pencil because it is everything you could ever want from a pencil liner. The color is in fact intense and super black and it literally glides onto the lid. This isn’t one of those times when someone says it doesn’t tug on the lid and when you go to test it you’re pulling ever so gently to get a fine line rather, it actually just melts onto your eyelid and stays put! I wore it during a six-hour shift and I also worked out in it and it did not budge. It also created a really nice wing with minimal effort and while it was thicker than I was planning on making it, it still looked really lovely. The formula is also so creamy that it would be perfect for blending and using as a cream base for a smokey eye. I’m definitely holding onto this one.

IMG_1289

Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes 4-in-1 Mascara

I’ve received a sample of this before and I wasn’t blown away, but I just chucked that up to samples not always mirroring their full-size counterparts, which is especially true for mascaras. I forgot about it and now it has completely dried out, so this one came at a perfect time when I realized I wanted a mascara for more natural looking lashes or on days when I’m just popping out quite quickly and want a splashing of mascara. It’s not the best mascara I’ve ever tried, but it gets the job done.

IMG_1292

bareMinerals Pop of Passion Lip Oil-Balm in Plumberry Pop

When I swatched this on my hand for the photo, I was disappointed that it had a glossy finish and I knew that I would probably never reach for it, especially since the color isn’t one I tend to gravitate towards. I then tried rubbing it off and found that it left a beautiful stain behind and immediately changed my mind. This is so lovely on the lips because it feels quite hydrating and once the glossiness fades (or I blot it off with a tissue), it leaves behind the nicest pink stain.

IMG_1294

Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Natural Lipstick in C9 Copper Pink

If you received the Sephora birthday gift from two years ago, you’re familiar with this lipstick. At first, I loved it because it had a very 90s brown lipstick vibe that made me think of Rachel Green. Then I applied it and didn’t love that it had a satin finish. If you can’t already tell, I love matte lipsticks. I just don’t see the point in wearing something that isn’t going to last. That aside, it’s a really nice reddish brown color that I like to wear when I don’t know what else to choose and don’t really care about longevity. I might give this one away just because I’ve barely put a dent in the one I already own.

IMG_1290

Bumble and Bumble Pret-a-Powder

BEST DRY SHAMPOO EVER. I don’t say that lightly because I hate showering and rely heavily on dry shampoo. I love that this is a powder because it blends into my dark hair better and it adds sooooo much volume to the roots. Plus, the smallest amount gets the job done and while it might seem scary to put powder into your hair, this doesn’t make a mess because the bottle disperses the perfect amount of product so with just a few shakes, my hair’s sorted. I already own one of these and am about 1/3 of the way through with it so it was really nice to get one of these in the box this month. This sample size is always in the Beauty on the Fly section and retails for $12 so paying $10 to get it in this box with five other things wasn’t too bad.

IMG_1291

Tom Ford Fragrance in Black Orchid

I know I complain about fragrance samples in every box, so I’m going to avoid doing that for this one. It’s pretty musky and I like that about it. It’s still a bit of a strange scent for me because it has a hint of floral to it that I’m not crazy about. It also smells woody and very luxurious. I will probably wear this a few times, but it’s not something I would ever purchase or select for myself.

What did you think of this month’s box? I know a lot of people have been taken off the wait list and are starting to receive some boxes, so that’s exciting! Is it something you would try? Let me know below! Xx Sab.

 

Leave a Reply

