Review | Play! by Sephora January 2016

IMG_1275

Hello! So I know the February boxes are already out, but I really like to test the products before I review them to get a proper feel for them and ensure I am giving the most honest review possible. That being said, here’s my review of the January Play! box:

IMG_1277

Dr. Gross Skincare Alpha Beta Universal Daily Peel

So I was really scared for this because it sounded q intense and then Cristina told me she used it and really liked it. She told me she made it last longer by cutting each packet in half and then only using half of step 1 and half of step 2 each night. She kept the product from getting dry by using a bobby pin to close the remaining packet. I did the same thing since I technically only received enough for three days, so I wound up extending my time with this to six days. I used two bobby pins facing each other to retain the moisture and I probably could have cut each one into fourths and extended them even further. I felt a sort of burning/tingling as soon as I used each step, which worried me because that usually means my skin will breakout, but the sensation lasted a minute or less. My face didn’t get more red and actually, it seemed more calm and color corrected after use. I didn’t notice smaller pores or anything drastic. I used the first two for two nights in a row, then I skipped one night and used the remaining ones for four nights in a row and still didn’t notice a major change. I definitely wouldn’t purchase these because there are other peels I prefer.

IMG_1280

Dr. Brandt Skincare Needles No More

This was annoying because I don’t really have any wrinkles as I’m 23, but I thought I’d use it anyway. Cristina also knew about this product so she told me to use the tiniest amount so I did and while I maaaaaybe noticed a small smoothing effect, it was hardly anything worth getting excited about so I won’t keep this in my skincare routine. However, I was at Sephora the other day and one of the makeup artists recommended this product to a customer, so maybe it is good?

IMG_1276

Clinique Chubby Stick Sculpting Highlight

This is sooo nice guys. I really like the shade because it isn’t too pink or too much of a champagne color. I also love the texture. I feel as though it’s hard to overdo it with this one because it blends so well and would make for great layering. I luuuuurve this highlight!

IMG_1282

Sephora Collection Eye Mask – Honey

I was super excited for this and while I still haven’t used it, I’m sure it will at least feel nice on the eyes and provide hydration. Will update with a Sephora mask review later.

IMG_1281

Living Proof Prime Style Extender

I have no use for this at the mo because I literally haven’t styled my hair in two months and I rarely even brush it, but I’ve had great experiences with Living Proof in the past so I’m sure if I had a use for this, it would work well. Will be passing this one along to a better home.

IMG_1279

Tocca Isabel Fragrance

Once again, I’M SO BORED OF FRAGRANCES. Seriously, I feel like fragrances are a bad product to include every single month because they’re so hit or miss and for me, they’ve basically all been a miss. Anyway, this one in particular is very heavily scented and musky. It’s meant to smell Spanish (think sangria and citrus) with a hint of leather and I definitely get all of that, but it’s too strong and just doesn’t really work for me.

Overall, I’d say this was one of the worst boxes I’ve received since they started being sent out. I only really liked the Clinique highlight and the Sephora eye mask is exciting. I do wish you could rate products or let them know what you think like you can do with Ipsy. Like, being able to say, “Hey, don’t send me these things because I will never use them,” would be great. I’m sort of meh about the subscription, but I’m going to carry on with it until at least April. How are you feeling about yours? Let me know! Xx S.

One thought on “Review | Play! by Sephora January 2016

Leave a Reply

