Obsessions | Top 5 Pink Lip Picks for Valentine’s Day

I don’t believe in Valentine’s Day as being seen as a day for couples and singling out, well, the singletons, but I do like the hearts and the extra emphasis on a general love. While I don’t have plans on 14 Feb, I did do Galentine’s with some of my bffs (here and here) where I needed reliable lipstick options to get me through the self-induced sugar coma and this year, I wanted something pink. If you’re more into reds, check out last year’s post on a selection of red lip options here.

IMG_1226

Top, from left: MAC Chatterbox and bareMinerals in Get Ready. Bottom, from left: MAC Viva Glam Miley Cyrus, Revlon in Pink Truffle, and Revlon in Lovesick.

IMG_1235

MAC Viva Glam Miley Cyrus

If you want a statement lip for V Day, this is the one. Unfortunately, it’s no longer available from MAC, but Ariana Grande’s collection is and there might be a cheeky dupe below. Anyway, this is a really bright hot pink with a luster finish, one of the more comfortable and long lasting MAC finishes, in my opinion. I love this shade because of how bold it is and because my girl Miley worked with MAC to create it to help men, women and children living with HIV/AIDS. Honestly, I probably wouln’t have bought this lipstick if not for the HIV/AIDS donation, but I’m so glad I did. The blue tones in this particular shade really help to brighten your teeth and I’ve always received compliments when wearing it. If a more muted tone is more your thing, it also makes a good stain.

Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Pink Truffle

If your lips are like mine and are STILL experiencing major damage from the red matte liquid lipsticks and lip pencils of Christmas past, this will save your life. The Revlon Lip Butters are some of my favorite lip products because of how hydrating and comfortable they are. Plus, they just feel lovely on the lips and give a juicy appearance without the stickiness of a gloss. I love this shade in particular because it is just a berry-toned bold color that can tone things down. It’s also quite long lasting as it sinks into the lips over time.

MAC Lipstick in Chatterbox 

This is the type of pink I typically stray away from, but it was also my first introduction to MAC lipsticks and I really love it. It’s definitely more of a “Barbie” pink, which sort of makes it difficult to wear, but I feel like most lipsticks are wearable if given a bit more attention. This is also quite bright, but in a more muted way (does that even make sense?) and because it’s an amplified shade, I think it’s more wearable because it isn’t a pale pink. Again, depending on how I wear it and manipulate it, it’s not only sweet, but also fierce.

Revlon Balm Stain in Lovesick

Much like the MAC Miley Cyrus Viva Glam, this is a bright, hot pink. I actually feel like this is a dupe for the MAC shade mentioned above, which is great because it comes in at around half the price. The two also look pretty similar on the lips, but this one starts out more glossy and turns into a really comfortable stain. I also love that this is a crayon because it makes application super precise and also easy if you don’t have a mirror handy. Lastly, it will not budge! So order all the food and eat all the pink and red cupcakes your heart desires because this bad boy is in it for the long haul.

bareMinerals Marvelous Moxie Lipstick in Get Ready

This is my favorite for the more natural-but-still-rosy lip option. It’s a creamy formula so it won’t last forever, but it won’t fade awkwardly either. I think this is one to pair with nearly any makeup look or outfit and it definitely isn’t anywhere nearly as dramatic as the others I’ve mentioned.

I went with the bareMinerals for Galentine’s and will be sporting the Miley on V Day. Let me know what you’re going to wear! Xx S.

Leave a Reply

