2016 Winter Lip Options

IMG_1140

Sure Punxsutawney Phil might have signaled an early spring, but it’s still very much winter here in Texas, so I suppose it’s the same for the rest of the country. That being said, here are some of my favorite lip options to get you through the gloomy skies and chilly nights. They’re all more on the bold side and best of all, 4/5 are from the drug store and the fifth is still relatively inexpensive! And because they’re mostly reddish, I think they make a good transition for early spring as well.

IMG_1143

Sephora Cream Lip Stain in Blackberry Sorbet

This is the most expnsive one in the bunch, but for good reason. I love these liquid lipsticks becuase they look so flawless on (when applied with love and care) and they last AAAAGES. They will not budge once they’ve dried and that doesn’t take long at all. This shade is so beautiful because it’s a berry-purple that leans on the darker side so paired with really black mascara and rosy cheeks, it is just too perfect to pass up.

Wet n Wild MegaLast Lip Color in Cherry Bomb

I love love love the shade range in this collection as it covers most bases. These are great for beginners or someone interested in trying a totally new color. This is one of my favorites because it’s a really deep, dark red and for something so bold, you need it to be extremely matte. A slick of lip balm and patience will help get this on the lips without too much trouble and once there, it won’t budge. The worst thing about it is how drying it is, but this is one lip product that you can put a thin balm over and it won’t smear or fade. Plus, it’s super cheap. Like, less than $2 cheap.

Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Pink Truffle

After wearing matte reds for several months, my lips need some moisture STAT. Being the lip product addict that I am, I can’t go more than a few days without some lip color and this is the perfect way of wearing a lipstick that lasts well and won’t dry out my lips. The finish is fairly glossy, but it isn’t slippery. It stays put through drinks and talking, but comes off most of the time when I eat. Regardless, it’s quite pretty, especially because it’s like a berry-pink, so it looks really lovely this time of year. I neglected the lip butters for a while but I’ve rediscovered them and am really loving them again.

Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Candy Apple

Going off of the previous pick, it’s got to be another lip butter to see me through these dry months. I love a good red lip year round, but something about a true red in the winter is so poetic. This is one of two true reds in my collection and while the other is extremely matte, this one is again, quite glossy. The lip butters are so nicely pigmented, providing the perfect dollop of color and the longer you wear them, the better they look because they sink into your lips. This is my favorite effortless red for sure, but I will say the formula of these is like actual butter. As in, they don’t hold a lipstick shape too well and that’s why it looks melty and weird in the pic above (so soz).

Rimmel Lasting Finish Matte by Kate Moss in 107

I know I said I love a true red, but I always love a deep red and this is always a favorite. It’s matte, but not drying at all. I think this is a good one for a lot of people because it looks different on different skin tones, but is always flattering. Major points for being long lasting as well.

What are you wearing the next few chilly weeks? Let me know below! Xx S.

IMG_1141

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

