Review | Play! by Sephora December 2015

Hi! Sorry I took a break from November’s box (more on that later) and sorry this one is so late, but finals, the holidays and a nice little break were all top priorities for a while but I’m back and here to review this little box for you!

IMG_0783

Dr. Brandt PoreDermabraision Pore Perfecting Exfoliator

Caroline Hirons said not to use harsh exfoliators in 2016 here and if you’re new to the blogging world, she is a skin care expert so that being said, I haven’t used this much. Actually, I only used it twice (as was recommended in the how-to video on Sephora). I did like that the grains in this particular exfoliator were very small and fine, meaning they weren’t too harsh. I also very gently massaged them into my face for a minute then let them sit there another minute before rinsing (also suggested in video). I didn’t notice any remarkable difference, but if I were in desperate need of an exfoliator, I would probably reach for this one again.

Smashbox Full Exposure Palette 

This was hella annoying because I was so looking forward to getting either the full size palete (HA! But a girl can dream, right?) or the travel size palette and instead, I got a duo. I was majorly disappointed because I didn’t need another nude or gold shade. Sephora keeps doing this thing where they excite you with something big and then disappoint you when it’s either not included and they switch it for something else, or they make it super tiny. That aside, I used it once and thought hmmm okay that’s not bad. Used it again this week and I love it! I like to wear the gold all over the lid and use the nude for the crease; the gold is really sparkly. Like, super sparkly, and is quite a pale gold, while the nude leans toward the warm side of things. They’re both pigmented, easy to blend and they do kick up quite a bit of powder (not on Lorac levels, though).

Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes Pencil Eye Liner in Matte Black 

This is quite nice and goes on really easily. It also blends very well. There’s not much to get excited about over a pencil liner for me as I go for liquid 99% of the time and have enough black pencils to last me 82 life times if I’m being quite honest, but it’s a good option. There was no tugging and it blended easily.

Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb fragrance

I literally am so tired of fragrance samples from Sephora! Okay, I get that people like different scents, but I can’t get on board with them. I know what I like and I stick to them, so this isn’t really my jam every month. This is worse as it’s literally like a bomb of flowers exploded when I sprayed it. I will never wear this but if you’re really into florals, go for it. C and her mom think this smells like a sweeter Coco Chanel Mademoiselle, but that’s my fave fragrance ever and I totes disagree.

Fresh Seaberry Moisturizing Face Oil

I’m currently using the Josie Maran Argan Oil and the Milk counterpart, but I decided to use this for a bit to test it out. It’s much thicker than the Josie, but it also covers more area in fewer drops. It also has a stronger scent to it, but it doesn’t bother me. I feel like oils are good in general so I’m just happy to have another sample. I think a little goes a long way so although it’s smaller than my Argan Oil smaple, it will last longer. I am really liking this as I think it’s helping with my the pigmentation, smoothness, brightness and overall look of my skin!

NUDE Skincare Advanced Renewal Serum

I, like many other people, drank quite a bit of alcohol on New Year’s Eve. I was also slightly sleep-deprived the next morning and because I had been traveling and was at a higher altitude in Colorado, my skin was dying of thirst. So, I went without makeup on New Year’s Day and slathered a hydrating concoction on my face instead. I used this and it definitely helped. In the nights that followed, I continued to use it with my Fresh Seaberry oil but without a moisturizer. My face felt great and I quite enjoyed it. It wasn’t groundbreaking or anything, but it got the job done. I decanted two of the packs into a sample pot and they’re enough to last me over two weeks so if you do that, you get a lot of product!

Last month’s box was a really good one and while I didn’t write a review in a timely manner, it was so good I will definitely post a late review really soon – so look out for that! I have reviews of all the other boxes Sephora has sent out around the blog, so search those if you’re interested and let me know if you want to know more about these or any of the other products! Thanks! Xx S.

Leave a Reply

