Review | Play! by Sephora October 2015

I’ll admit I was let down when I received this month’s Play! box. Sephora had mistakenly previewed a popular Becca highlighter in lieu of the Dr. Jart+ tinted moisturizer, so I was extremely excited to try that out. When I opened the box and saw that it was missing, I stopped caring about the rest of the contents. I was also packing for a weekend trip to Austin that day, so I gathered everything save for the mask and fragrance and packed it all away. Incidentally, I forgot my skincare in my friend’s car, so I relied heavily on my new products all weekend and I fell in love. These products have done such a great job, I’ve totally forgotten about the Becca highlight (lol jk). I’m not sure if it’s the fact that I stopped taking my (horrid) birth control, but my skin hasn’t been this tame in months. Either way, I’m sure the contents of this month’s box have also played a huge role in my skin’s revolution.

IMG_0156

Boscia Detoxifying Black Cleanser

This is weird because it’s really warm when you put it on your face. It isn’t like a burning sensation, it’s just really warm and only for like, two seconds. Think, minty, but hot instead? Idk how to explain it and idk what it does other than freak me out every single time I apply it, but it lathers up nicely and feels like it’s actually cleaning my face, getting deep into the pores and flushing away all the dirt and grime. Sad the bottle is so small because that means I’m actually going to have to repurchase this once it runs out.

IMG_0162

Boscia Konjac Cleansing Sponge with Bamboo Charcoal

Why isn’t every brand making one of these? It’s such a good product to have. I know Sephora do a duo you can purchase for the same price, which is great and I’m going to try them out to see if they measure up to this one (found here). Idk if the bamboo charcoal actually does anything truly beneficial, but my face has never felt cleaner. I like that I can control the pressure and that it’s small enough to get in all the nooks and crannies on my face, especially on the right side of my nose where I have to exert extra caution thanks to a pesky nose ring that likes to pop out when I forget to be careful with it. It’s deep cleaning and gentle, plus it’s easy to rinse out. This and the Boscia cleanser are a dynamic duo.

IMG_0163

Fresh Black Tea Age-Delay Instant Infusion Treatment Toner

I’ve been using Apple Cider Vinegar as a toner lately and while effective, it is also pretty intense. To combat that, I’ve been drinking it instead of applying it directly to my face and I think it’s working much better. I started using this toner with some hesitation because a previous face cream sample from the same range irritated my skin. This one looks milky and is surprisingly mild. It has to be doing something good because when I wake up the next morning, so much redness has gone down and there are few pesky pimples populating my face (had too much fun with the alliteration there, soz).

IMG_0165

Belief the True Cream Moisturizing Bomb

As you can tell by the photo, I’m nearly done with this product! The proof is in the pudding, people. This is the actual bomb because it feels so light and I can actually feel it sinking into my skin. My face has never felt more hydrated and happy. Plus, the cool blue color is really nice. I love this and will probably buy the full size just don’t tell me how much it is. 

Atelier Cologne Collection Azur – Mandarine Glaciale

This isn’t my fave, but it does remind me of Calvin Klein CK One. It’s citrusy, but a little stronger than the CK One. Sephora, if you’re going to give me fragrance samples, please just make them Marc Jacobs Daisy because that’s truly all I want.

IMG_0164

Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Day Tint SPF 15

I used this once and didn’t care for it. I know tinted moisturizers aren’t supposed to offer much coverage, but this literally did nothing and just made my skin appear oily. Forever bitter for tricking me into thinking I was receiving the Becca highlight instead of this, so that may affect any and all reviews on this product.

IMG_0161

Sephora Collection Pearl Face Mask

I haven’t used this yet, and I don’t plan on using it until the end of the year when I start doing a lot of travelling. I will post a review about it, especially because I am really excited to use it so look out for that!

How did you feel about your Play! box this month? Upset about the Becca highlight (look, it’s a product with a cult following). Excited to try the subscription? Let me know! Xx S.

Leave a Reply

