Top Picks | Autumnal Lip Options 2015

The leaves are changing and Zara’s given an update to their blanket scarf collection. Yes my friends, autumn is upon us (despite the fact that Texas is holding on to 90 degree weather). I will wear a dark, berry-toned lip on the hottest and sunniest of days, most likely also paired with an entirely black ensemble, but it is truly the crisp fall air and freshly sprung pumpkin patches that bring out the bold lips. Here’s the round-up of shades I’ve been sporting/feel are the ones this season, shockingly half of which are orange-based.

IMG_2107

IMG_2110

Sephora Collection Cream Lip Stain in Mandarin Muse

I will sing this product’s praises until the cows come home. The Sephora Cream Lip Stains are so good. If you’re a matte lover and into the bold shades, this is one formula you have to try. Any of the three I own could have made this list, but I chose Mandarin Muse because it’s the brightest orange you’ve ever seen. It’s a way to bring in the orange shades of the season while still keeping the bright lips of the summer, so truly transitional. The brightness of this shade obvs makes it v. bold, so if you’re not a bold lip person, be weary because this will not budge all day, so you need to be prepared for the responsibility that comes with sporting an orange lip.

Revlon ColorBurst Lacquer Balm in Provocateur

I’m not the biggest fan of the finish on this balm, mostly because it’s glossy and while it leaves behind a bit of a stain, I know it can be easily removed. I do love the shade, though as it is a cherry red similar to the Elizabeth Arden Red Door Red lipstick I am so obsessed with. It’s just a refreshing take on red that again, holds on to some summery vibes, so it’s a bit unexpected from the darker reds everyone else will be sporting.

MAC Verve Lipstick

I’m a brown lipstick enthusiast. This particular shade is a little bit plumy, so it kind of gives off a berry vibe. It can be quite neutral, but also works as a bold lip option. Idk how it’s so versatile, but it is. I also love the formula as it is easy to apply, but lasts long without feeling totally matte. It has also inspired me to start a brown lipstick collection so if you need me, I’ll be on the MAC website.

Burberry KISSES Lipstick in Union Red

Not only is this one of my new favorite lipstick shades, it is also one of my new favorite lipstick formulas. The shade is a bit of an orangey-red that really fits the season when worn full-on, but when lightly pressed in, it’s a bit of stain that looks quite natural. The formula is seriously long-lasting and so hydrating. I could wear this all day, every day.

Topshop Lips in Persuasion

This isn’t a shade I would have bought on my own, but when I received it for free from Topshop Playland, I thought it was actually quite a unique lipstick shade. Topshop describe it as a deep orange, but I’d say it’s more of a caramely-orange, if that makes sense? It’s a little browny, which is what makes this such a nice alternative to the typical berries and deep reds. It’s still bold without being too crazy, and it goes with a lot of different looks. The formula is my least favorite part of the lipstick because it is creamy, so it’s quite slippery and doesn’t last too long. It’s not bad for a quick update to my look, but I wouldn’t wear this on a night out or when burgers are involved.

Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment in Berry

The formula of these lip balms is so nourishing and the pigmentation is really good. Although the finish is sort of glossy, they stay put really well because they are tinted lip balms. I love every shade I’ve ever tried, but the berry is particularly nice because it’s dark enough to be vampy, but it’s also extremely wearable. I wear this at work every time I want to wear something dark but need it to be low-maintenance. I would recommend getting this in a gift set with other shades because they’re all so good.

What lip options are you sporting this autumn? Let me know in the comments! Xx S.

IMG_2112

IMG_2108

2 thoughts on “Top Picks | Autumnal Lip Options 2015

Leave a Reply

