Review | Play! by Sephora September 2015

When Sephora sends me an email, I drop everything, connect to wifi and open it. Sometimes they’re telling me I can finally redeem those points I’ve been hoarding on something really good (still waiting on that NARS 500-point perk though) and sometimes it tells me I can try this cool mascara with a $25 purchase. A couple of months ago, I got an email inviting me to Play! by Sephora. This is another one of those beauty subscription boxes that I have a love/hate relationship with. I’ve done Birchbox and it was meh. I did Ipsy and it was good for a while before it started being mediocre. Mostly, I was drowning in samples that were okay, but not really my thing, which was confusing because both services asked me to fill out information to better personalize my monthly boxes. Anyway, I decided it was wiser to save my $10-$20 a month and cancelled both. Then Sephora happened and I thought to myself, Sephora is perfect so what could they possibly give me that I wouldn’t love??!

IMG_2097

IMG_2098

IMG_2099

IMG_2101

Sephora Collection – Rouge Infusion Lip Stain in Peony

I borrowed C’s full-sized version of this exact stain a couple of months ago and really loved it, but using it this time around, I found I wasn’t too excited by it. I was really close to buying it when I first used it because it did feel moisturizing and I liked the color. Now that I’ve had more time to play with it, I find that it’s sticky and glossy, and I really hate both of those textures on my lips. Sure it’s a nice color for when I want something subtle, but I’m not crazy about it.

Marc Jacobs Highliner Gel Eye Crayon in Blackonteur (only available in Canada)

I wasn’t really excited about receiving another black pencil liner, but I was excited for anything Marc Jacobs. The real MVP here isn’t just the beautiful package (totally what I thought would be the case), but it is actually the liner itself. It’s really black and the gel-like texture does make for easy application. The first day I wore it, I was annoyed at having to pull around my eye to get it on the lid and had major problems trying to blend it out, but the next two days I stopped trying to be so precise and the smudged black liner look was something I loved again. Really enjoying this.

IMG_2103

Bumble and Bumble Hairdresser’s Invisible Oil Primer 

I literally have no idea what this is supposed to do. I guess it’s meant to protect your hair from the sun, but it’s actually been really cloudy and rainy here, so I haven’t been able to test its abilities. Also, I hardly ever actually style my hair, so if this is meant for styling, it’s a lost cause on me. I am interested in the UV/UB protection qualities, though. I’m not exactly sure this sample will be enough to notice any results.

IMG_2100

GLAMGLOW SUPERCLEANSE Daily Clearing Cleanser

My brother has this and I’ve been *secretly* using it every time I shower. I didn’t really notice any differences with it, but I was only using it a few times a week to do the bulk of my makeup removal. Now, I use this everyday and actually follow the directions. It makes my skin feel softer, but that’s about it. It’s nice to get my base off and then go in with my Cetaphil, but nothing life-changing here.

Elizabeth and James Nirvana White Fragrance

I received a sample of this before and wasn’t too fussed with it, especially after everyone absolutely RAVED about its scent. I am obsessed with the actual bottle’s packaging though, so had I received that, I probs would have liked this more. It’s an okay scent – musky, yet strong. I like the more unisex scents like this for the most part, but this one is maybe a bit too much for my liking. It’s still a nice scent to have around in case I’m feeling….like smelling like an Olsen?

Ole Henriksen Sheer Transformation

I haven’t noticed a major difference with this cream, but it has a nice silky texture and it doesn’t feel heavy or sticky on the skin. It absorbs pretty well and leaves my face feeling soft. Overall, nice little sample here.

IMG_2102

Would I repurchase any of these products? No. Will I continue to subscribe to Play? Yes. I’m going to continue testing these boxes until the end of the year, and then I’ll most likely stop my subscription because ultimately, I find that while these are good for testing new brands and products, subscription boxes just leave me with a lot of let-downs and way too many mini samples of things I don’t need. I’m at a place where I’m pretty comfortable knowing what does and doesn’t work for me (unless you want to give me some proper deluxe foundation samples) and I have a wishlist of things I want to try. Rather than loading up on a bunch of things I never asked for, I’d rather spend my money and splurge on the few items I’ve been eyeing.

Did you get a Play! box? What are your thoughts? Are you interested in subscribing? Let me know in the comments! XX S.

Leave a Reply

