Review | Hourglass Illusion Tinted Moisturizer

This is the year of breaking free from foundations and exploring lighter bases. I’ve used tinted moisturizers before from Nars, Laura Mercier and Supergoop (all samples), but never had any luck. I felt like they clung to every dry patch, sunk into every pore and were all around patchy. I didn’t understand them and now that my skin is clearer, I feel more confident going out without foundation.

IMG_2096

Special shoutout to the packaging before we begin. This isn’t a cheap product and the bottle lets you konw that. It’s heavy and metallic and the colors hint at the glowy properties it will bring to your skin. It also has a pump and while I usually love pumps, this one is annoying because the product’s texture makes it too thick to be picked up and pumped out. I never know how much is in there either because sometimes I can’t get any product to come out and because of the bottle’s opaqueness. It looks nice on your counter though!

IMG_2079

This is a mousse-like texture with what appears to be some shimmer running through it. I’m going to compare this to the Rimmel Wake Me Up foundation and concealer becasue those also had shimmer. Those were too much and highlighted all the wrong things whereas this product just gives a nice glow, making it more lit from within than anything. It’s definitely not high coverage at all as you can see in my photo below that some pesky spots are still visible and I’ve totally given up on the dark circles under my eyes because I’m still quite jet lagged and haven’t been sleeping properly (please let me know there’s some kind of miracle product out there for me). I chose not to wear concealer on my blemishes or areas with redness because I liked how natural my skin looked. That’s my favorite thing about this tinted moisturizer – it blends into my skin so that it isn’t cakey and it just glides over problems rather than trying to overcompensate. Yeah, it isn’t perfect, but I think tinted moisturizers are meant to be light and serve more as something to even skintone than be selfie approved. The best thing is really the glow factor as I’m having quite a moment with highlighting every inch of my face possible.  I love wearing this on a daily basis and am now really interested in trying other tinted moisturizers to see how I get on with them.

IMG_1874

Wearing:

Hourglass Illusion Tinted Moisturizer

Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage Concealer in SC-2

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles in Light

Urban Decay Primer Potion in Sin

Lorac Pro Eyeshadow Palette: – Pink all over lid, Mauve in crease, Champagne in inner corners, Espresso as liner, Cream on brow bone 

Maybelline Volum’ Express the Falsies Mascara in Blackest Black

Benefit Lollitint

Maybelline Color Drama Lipstick in Berry Much

Let me know if you’ve tried this or have any good recommendations for light bases! Xx S.

Leave a Reply

