Review | Maybelline VoxBox Superstay Better Skin Foundation

Hello! If you’re new around here, I occasionally get sent a Vox Box from Influenster. For those of you who don’t know, Influenster is a company that delivers products to the site’s members FOR FREE!! The website works on reviews, so the more reviews you give, the more products you are eligible to receive. If you have a blog, YouTube channel, Twitter, Facebook, etc., you can post reviews or thoughts on those sites, but you don’t need any of that! The website also allows you to write reviews on retailer websites or within Influenster itself. I’ve received an Aveeno cream and some hair products from Dessange Paris. This time, I was sent the Maybelline VoxBox with the Superstay Better Skin Foundation

IMG_1756.

IMG_1796

Wearing:
Maybelline Superstay Better Skin Foundation in 20 Classic Ivory

Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage concealer in SC-2

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles in Light 

Urban Decay Primer Potion in Sin

Lorac Pro Eyeshadow Palette: Garnet all over lid, Sable in Crease, Gold inner corners

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper

Maybelline Volum’ Express the Falsies Mascara in Blackest Black

POP Beauty Sunkissed Bronzer Secret Sunshine

Makeup Forever Pro Bronze Fusion 

theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer Highlight

Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder in 20 Classic Ivory

Burberry K.I.S.S.E.S. lipstick in Union Red

The Foundation

The only Maybelline foundations I can remember using are the Fit Me and a cream compact. The cream compact was with me for my entire middle and high school makeup adventure, and not that it was the foundation’s fault, but my skin was still spotty and the foundation looked really cakey. This was before I knew how to apply makeup and if I used it today, I’m sure it would be fine. The Fit Me was too watery and made me breakout. When I found out I would be receiving a foundation from Maybelline, I was terrified. Then I read the info that came in the VoxBox and felt better.

This foundation has Actyl C, is oil free, titanium dioxide and sunscreen (SPF 15). Usually, foundations with sunscreen are a bit of a challenge, but this one is made with really good things that are supposed to work together to help make your skin better. My skin has been pretty good lately, so I thought if anything jumped out, it would be the foundation’s fault and I would stop using it.

The Review
First, the packaging is really great. It comes with a pump and a lid (hint NARS Sheer Glow HIIIINT) so I’m happy. It also feels really nice because it’s a slim glass bottle. I used 1.5 pumps and that was more than enough. I know you’re meant to start at the center of your face and blend outward, but I start on the really red or spotty areas (T-zone, chin) and then blend out from those. I then use the remaining product on the rest of my face just to even out the skin tone. This does a great job at evening things out, but the coverage is light-medium, so I definitely needed my Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage concealer. Even then, my skin has improved a lot recently, so I didn’t mind what was showing through. What was most surprising was how light it felt. I was dreading wearing a real foundation after a summer of tinted moisturizers and CC creams, but this was so light and not tacky at all. I was able to notice it more than my lighter coverage bases, but I just used a damp Beauty Blender sponge to help with the appearance.

Overall, I’m really glad I have this foundation because I don’t have any real foundations at the moment and since I got it for free, I now don’t even need to buy one. I’m also glad because it’s been good to me so far! If you’re in the market for a new drugstore foundation, I think this is a good one to try! If you have tried it, let me know what you think! If you’d like to join Influenster or learn more about the site, here’s my referral link: www.influenster.com/r/704478. Sab x.

 

2 thoughts on “Review | Maybelline VoxBox Superstay Better Skin Foundation

  1. The West Coast Explorer says:

    I should definitely give Influenster a try!! I’m using now the Fit me foundation, it didn’t break me out (thank God) but I don’t really love it. I feel it fades away too quickly. Maybe I should try this one.

    Lovely blog by the way. Looking forward to future posts!

    I just posted my August Favorites up on my blog: http://thewestcoastexplorer.me/2015/08/31/august-favorites/ Check them out if you have time! I’d appreciate your feedback too!

    XoXo,

    TheWestCoastExplorer.com

    • interestina says:

      You should! There’s honestly no reason not to because once you sign up and write several reviews for products you’ve already used, you have to do very little to get free things! My skin ate the Fit Me foundation really quickly so it was always gone by the end of the day. This one lasts WAY longer and it’s light but buildable at the same time.
      Thanks! I saw your post and left you a comment! Xx

Leave a Reply

